Eye Exams & My Lasik Story

Today I am doing something a little different. I wanted to share with all the Heart For Health readers an interview I did with Restore Vision Centers. A lot of people have asked me about getting Lasik.  So I thought I should share my own personal experience with all of you.  Eye health is important. Here are some facts you should know about your vision screenings from all about vision, and the American Optometric Association.

  • Eye exams: Not only test your vision, they look at the interior of your eyes and optic nerve to rule out problems like macular degeneration, cataracts, and glaucoma.
  • Kids: Risk-free children should have their eyes examined every two years until age 18.
  • Kids who currently wear eyeglasses or contact lenses should have annual eye exams, according to the American Optometric Association (AOA).
  • Adults: The AOA recommends a comprehensive eye exam every two years for adults ages 18 to 60, and annual exams for seniors age 61 and older.
  • Adults who wear contact lenses should have annual eye exams.

In health, 

Tara Arnold, RN

Mrs. Oregon America 2013

 

Tara’s LASIK Story

NOVEMBER 14, 2012

Hello everyone, I would like to introduce you to Tara, she is a pediatric nurse and was recently crowned Mrs. Oregon! Tara lives an active life style and needed her vision to keep up with her, so she decided to get LASIK at Restore Vision Centers … but that is only part of the story, so I played 20 questions (well not quite 20) with Tara to bring you the LASIK experience through her eyes.

Hobbies: Trying new fun workout classes, testing fun Portland restaurants, traveling, doing hair and makeup for friends’ special events.

How long have you been thinking about LASIK? Since College. When I danced for University of Portland I didn’t like to worry about getting makeup in my contacts, or having scratchy eyes.

It was hard not to have reliable vision. Nothing is worse than a contact acting up before a performance, or better yet an exam in nursing school.

What held you back? I had to wait for my eyes to stop changing RX at my eye appointments. I also was nervous that it was going to hurt.

What made you decide to move forward, was there one moment? I decided to move forward when I signed up to run hood to coast. It is a long race over 24 hours with little to no sleep. The thought of having to run at random times of the night, in unpredictable climates, with contacts sounded bad. I also couldn’t see myself wearing my glasses while running. How uncomfortable!! I decided since I was taking a huge athletic step by agreeing to run hood to coast I would also finally get the surgery.

Why did you choose Restore Vision Centers? It was recommended to me by another nurse who had had it done.

What was the LASIK experience like for you? I loved all the staff. I had all my questions answered from day one. It made the decision so easy.

The prep was the hardest part because I was not allowed to wear contacts for 2 weeks before surgery. (I really didn’t like my glasses, and exercising was done blindly.) I was surprised at how fast the procedure was! I felt like I laid down, they handed me a soft pillow to hold, and I looked at a couple of lights while my vision went in and out.

It didn’t hurt, in fact I didn’t feel really anything. I put on my shades and sat in the lobby and had a snack. My husband picked me up and I went home and took a really long nap. I woke up once and my eyes were sore and dry. I fell back to sleep and when I woke up again I didn’t have any pain. I could see pretty well a little fuzzy. The next day I could see almost perfectly.

How was your recovery? My recovery was good. It involved a lot of artificial tears for the first week, and then I used less and less over the next few months. I didn’t have any redness or pain, and my vision just kept getting better and better.

What is your favorite thing about having gotten LASIK? Every night I think…I better go take out my contacts and go to bed. But I don’t have contacts anymore.

I love that when I wake up I open my eyes and I can see my clock! I am so happy about not having to wear contacts. Even elements in nature were more crisp than when I was wearing contacts.

LASIK Experience at Restore Vision Centers

Congratulations Tara!

How has LASIK influenced work or hobbies? I work at a hospital where the air is dry. I had a really hard time with my contacts getting really scratch, and glasses were extremely uncomfortable after a 12hr shift. Now I don’t worry about my eyes and can just focus on my work. Working out is so much easier not worrying about dry scratchy contacts. I no longer worry that one might fall out during a run or become scratched. I feel safer knowing I can see all of my surroundings better too.

Would you recommend it? Highly!!!!

What is your advice for someone considering LASIK? It is one of the best things I have ever done for myself. If you are considering doing it, just go have a consult. The staff will answer all your questions and you will walk away wondering how soon you can have it done! I highly recommend it.

How long has it been since you have gotten LASIK? About 6 months.

Do you love your vision, how is it? My vision is amazing … My husband used to tease me that he had the better eyes (20/20). Now I have the better eyes 20/15 haha.

Anything else you want to share? I loved that fuzzy pillow you had me hold during surgery. As a pediatric nurse I appreciate the use of objects that distract and comfort during stressful times. It was a nice touch!!

One thought on “Eye Exams & My Lasik Story

  1. How did you decide on your LASIK facility? I have been considering using Saddleback Eye for LASIk but I’d like to know to know how you decided?

Leave a Reply

