Pediatric Obesity… Buzz Words?

Pediatric Obesity….What do you think of when you hear those words? Are there negative connotations or stigmas attached? Have these words become buzz words in our society?

When I hear the words “Pediatric Obesity” I think of a huge problem that is multifaceted with no one solution. It’s a topic that is hard to discuss. How can we as a society do anything for our kids, our community, future generations, and even ourselves to adress this epidemic when its just so prevalent?

This week I was reading a presentation from Mark Fenton MS from Tufts University. He said this;

“It’s not an obesity epidemic. It’s twin epidemics of physical inactivity and poor nutrition.”

This changed the way I thought about approaching the problem altogether. Rather than focusing on this large abstract negative issue of “Pediatric Obesity,” we should all focus on two measurable and very positive goals

  1. Increase Physical Activity.
  2. Increase education about nutrition with consumption of healthier foods.

Fruit Ninja pic from Pinterest

In the next few posts, I will be doing a series on these two goals. I will share my ideas of how we as individuals and system wide can make a difference. Please share these ideas with others. Be an advocate for increased physical activity for families and kids, and continue to learn about nutrition.

In health,

Tara Arnold, RN

2 thoughts on “Pediatric Obesity… Buzz Words?

  1. the irony in this situation is, as I was reading your post, I was in the middle of putting one up on my aspirations about improving childhood obesity/a college essay…I think you would really like it. It is so true that we need to educate children on what is healthy for the body. the children I babysit for love eating healthy when we get the groceries together. It’s just the matter of the availability of the correct foods to be provided by their parents. Love what you’re doing with your blog, it’s very inspiring!

    • Thank you so much for your comment. I am so so proud of all you do with your blog. I read through a lot of it today! I would love to have you come on my blog and post for me!!
      I agree with you about kids and healthy foods. When you get kids involved in their food through cooking, gardening, shopping, etc they are really excited about being healthy. I have kids ask me all the time how they can be healthier. I bet kids would really surprise their parents!!
      Keep up the great work!!
      -Tara

Leave a Reply

